Tips for playing Johnny Cash songs?

14 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@matthew)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hello,

I've been a Cash fan for awhile now, but he's never been one of my favorites to play. However, with the release of the movie to DVD, I can't got a night playing anywhere without getting asked to play Jackson, Folsom Prison, or Walk the Line.

So I'm looking for some tips on playing his stuff. I'm fairly new to playing so I still have to work at even “easy” songs.

Folsom Prison, I have a pretty simple version down pretty good. I just play alternating base notes with a single down strum in between. I know there are probably hundreds of fancy variations, anyone have a simple one they like and are willing to share?

Jackson, I'm stuck here… it sound so fast and I have no idea what they are doing. Can anyone help out?

I haven't started on the others, but Walk the Line and Ring of fire tips would be appreciated!

"Now people put you down for the way that you lived
But those people never knew you the way that I did
Don't be ashamed of who you were of how you died
I know you just wanted to find the brighter side..." - OPM

- Matthew

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

big fan here too.
the movie was great.

Folsom is a tough on on the wrist because it is played in F.
we all know how painful the F barre chord is.

I think you have a good understanding of how that's played. no other way.

I play Ring of Fire on dobro in open G. I doubt it is proper but it sounds good.

on a DVD , Tex Ritter's Ranch Party, there is a young Johnny with the Tenneesee Two. Lester Perkins (Carls brother) on telecaster.
Lester is playing the beat and lead stuff while Cash strums. the standup bass player is slappin the bass the whole time.
that's where that terrific beat comes from I think.

he plays Wak the Line on the DVD too. very interesting to see.but it doesnt reveal any tips as far as I can tell.

keep me posted if you discover anything.