Clear all

To use a pick or not?

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@fishrmann)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Quick intro - been playing for a year now (one year this weekend!), both acoustic and electric but pick up the Strat 90-plus percent of the time...mostly self taught at this stage..

The past couple months have been almost solely devoted to scale practice and understanding. Just love to hear someone pick up an ax and make it talk/sing, a real bluesy type of sound/feel. Scales have already enabled me to do this - perhaps it's only the vocabulary of my four year old son at this point, but it IS starting to talk in my hands!!!

When playing scales (and while "improvsising" within most scales) I ALWAYS us a pick, no problem hitting the strings quickly and cleanly. Now I'm back to strumming some chords to record and play my scale practice to.

However, when doing any type of strumming, especially on a moderate to fast tempo'd tune, I really CANNOT use a pick, just my thumb mainly to get a good paced and decent sounding strumming pattern. A pick just really screws me up especially on up strokes. Can a thumb have more rythm than a wrist? :roll:

Is thus just a "normal" part of learning to properly use a pick? Should a person FORCE themselves to get more proficient at using a pick for strumming? I know I LIKE the crisper sound when using a pick....

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

what i like to do when "practicing" is just fooling around with my guitar and seeing what kind of sounds i can make by changing small things. so i think you should be able to do both, pick and no pick and increase your "vocabulary."

ReplyQuote
(@tim_madsen)
Prominent Member

Get some thin flexible picks, there like training wheels for strumming. :wink:
I'd say a .60mm or thinner, I like the Jim Dunlop nylon, there easy to hold onto.
I think I started off with a .46mm it was really thin and very flexible.

Tim Madsen
Nobody cares how much you know,
until they know how much you care.