Notifications
Clear all

Too much pick?

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ericd183)
Topic starter  

What up guys/gals? New to the forum and somewhat new to guitar . . . been messing around for a few months but would still consider myself an absolute beginner, not that good at all. Here's my question and I don't even know if this will make sense but is it possible to be heavy handed with your pick? What I mean by that is when i'm playing I feel like I hear the pick strumming the strings as much as I can hear the chords ring out (does that make sense?) Happened no matter if I use a thin or medium pick. Also I was told that i'm missing the low E and A all together, is that true?

I left 2 links of me playing so you can get an idea of what I am talking about. I can hear the pick more so in the first one. Not good, no judgments haha

https://www.facebook.com/eric.deboskey/videos/10215261345699487/

https://www.facebook.com/eric.deboskey/videos/10215291551054602/?hc_ref=ART0JVJ6SimDR8zWyi_4MEPD927JcJGQL4S6PVwR_s3_QtciGzyREuoPOdexG9899wI&fref=nf

(@unleashedfury)
Eminent Member

I wouldn't say too much pick, as you stated, if your applying too much pick and its causing you to push harder to get your strums complete then choke up on your pick a bit.

However I will say your strumming, it seems like you are tensing up your right hand a bit. so your all but fighting the muscles to make it move naturally. I struggled with strumming when I first started because I was trying to make it sound exactly how I heard it

I use two techniques. one called the Paintbrush and the other the pencil.

When your painting a fence, you use a paint brush you take long broad strokes, to cover as much surface as you can in the least amount of time, aka *Strumming* you want a free flow of energy without struggling or tensing up to get the job done.