Tremolo/ whammy bar necessary for hard rock/metal

12 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 Iggy
(@iggy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Its probably too late now because I already told my parents what guitar I wanted for my birthday (2 weeks), but the guitar I told them I liked doesn't have a whammy bar (its a Schecter Omen 6). I want to play mostly hard rock and metal, so is it ok that it doesn't ahve a whammy bar (I am just getting started so it probaly doesn't matter anyway). When I asked the guy at guitar center I told him what kind of music I like and the style guitar I liked and this is one of the guitars that he reccomended. Thanks.

Brad

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Very few songs NEED a whammy bar.

Some sounds are only possible with one, but it's not a requirement for any musical style.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@banre)
Reputable Member

Agree totally with King. Don't worry about that whammy bar. The Omen 6 will be a great guitar for your rock/metal tastes. It's a very good first guitar for you.

Unseen Evidence
UE Reverb Nation Page

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Lots of Metal players use guitars without a tremelo or whammy bar.

There are ways to get this effect anyway.

1) You can push or pull upward on the headstock. Play any open string and push up on the headstock with your fretting hand. Or, you can fret a note or chord, and reach over with your picking hand and pull up on the headstock.

2) You can push downward on the guitar's horns or body while pushing upward on the neck with your fretting hand.

3) You can bend individual strings by pushing down on them above the nut. This is the opposite of the whammy effect in that it raises the pitch. Gives a similar effect though.