Notifications
Clear all

Triplets or 16ths...?

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@rcadian)
Topic starter  

I love Guitar Noise. I learnt my first song (Horse with No Name) through the lessons and have now learnt several others. I also listen to the podcasts and have read many of the articles online... I feel I'm still making progress but something has me stumped...

I know the answer to the question "What strumming pattern do I use for this song?" is "Whatever one feels good for you." And I agree with that, but I also like being able to replicate the strumming patterns of other people in order to see what does and doesn't work for me...

I am much better at hearing strumming patterns now than when I started playing guitar 6 months ago, but I still occassionally get stumped...hence this post

In this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSHxFkoYYWY

I can't work out whether the player is using triplets or 16th notes...especially on the D chord (examples at 23 and 30 seconds)... I also think he is playing an upstroke on the first beat of each new chord, but don't know whether that is a push or a pattern that starts with an upstroke...if that makes sense...

Can anyone give me their opinion...?

Many thanks - and to David himself - WOW! What a fantastic site.

Rc

(@jase36)
Reputable Member

Rcadian

I count myself still as a beginner and should steer clear of giving advice but I think he is throwing in a couple of sixteenth notes towards the end of some of the bars. The count would be 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and a 1. The and would be a down stroke, the a would be an upstroke, the 1 of the next bar would be a down stroke. It gives it that du da du sound. A couple of songs I use this in is Thats Entertainmet by The Jam and Just like Heaven by The Cure. Both of those songs use it as "anticipation" see Davids recent podcast on this.

Thats just my take on it if I was trying to replicate what I hear, I'm sure someone can give you a definate answer.