Clear all

Trouble with B & F chords

21 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kareemsoda)
Topic starter  

Am I the most absolute beginner here :?:
Anyways I am having a real tough time with the B and F chords.
What is the trick to properly getting one finger on two strings at one time?
I cannot do it both accurately AND quickly.
HELP!!

(@minotaur)
Noble Member

Fmaj is one of the hardest for beginners to form; Bmaj or any A-shape chord runs a tight second. You can't rush them. Slow down and make them carefully. Speed will come in time.

Keep practicing the Fmaj until you can find the right way to position your fingers. It's trial, error, time and practice. I never believed the seasoned pros when they said I'd eventually get it like they all did. Well, they weren't lying. :wink:

As for the Bmaj, the same holds true for barring the 2nd fret as for the Fmaj... trial, error, time and practice. Barring the 4th fret on the D G B strings without making the G#Ab on the 1st string ring is altogether another matter unless you have Gumby fingers and can bend your ring finger. So just mute the 1st string. You already have F#/Gb at the 2nd fret 1st string.

I hope that helps. If not and I've totally misinterpreted your question... :oops:

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

The trick is practice! :D

Sometimes the problem is the barre but also that you are using all your four fingers simultaneously. The 7th chords helped me because you only use three (or two) fingers, so the middle can help to the index with the barre and you don't have to worry about the position of several fingers.

Minotaur gave very good advices.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member