Clear all

Trouble with pull offs

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@maccattack)
Topic starter  

Hi guys

Ive been playing guitar on and off for over 20 years but for most of that could only play a hand full of chords.

in the last few years i became more serious about it and have tried to learn new things.

I dont know why but I find it so very very hard. Especially legato playing.

Im pretty good with hammer ons but pull offs are really difficult for me. Is this a common problem?

I recently started doing some excercises but I even struggle with those. Ive been working through Fast Forwards Lead Guitar Licks which shouldnt be too difficult but I struggle with it. Bends and pull offs. Im pretty ok at bends i guess but when you put it all together i mess it up. Especially if say, theres a pull off on the high E string followed by one on the B string.

So my question is

a) are pull offs in general an area that everyone struggles with?

b) help!

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Are you pulling the finger straight off?

To pull-off properly you should pull your finger slightly to the side before lifting it - if you were to look along the neck the movement would be like a "j". You just need to catch the string with the tip of your finger to make it ring when you lift it.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I pull off so the edge my callous catches the string. same idea as greybeards suggestion.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@bfloyd6969)
Estimable Member

As already said, pull off to the side of the string. You are using your pull-off finger as a "pick" to pluck the string.

Why do we have to get old...

ReplyQuote
(@maccattack)
Topic starter  

Hmmm...