trying to do it right

9 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@sevynn)
Topic starter  

Hello all,

New to the forum.

Outside of a near 10 year hiatus from guitar, I have been playing since age 16 or so. Had a little formal instuction but I am primarily self taught (albeit in a very haphazard manner) and have picked up things here and there over the years that have gotten me by. Unfortunatley, my hiatus pretty much wiped out the very meager amount of sight reading and theory I had so I play almost strictly by ear these days. Really consider myself an advanced beginner at best.

In an attempt to remedy this, I drug out a copy of Fretbaord Logic that had been sitting on my shelf and started going through that. It has helped but I have decided I really need to get the comprehensive understanding I should have a LONG time ago. Thought about a music theory book but in so doing, ran across Leavitt's Method for Modern Guitar. As I have researched this it appears to be quite comprehensive and looks to be something that will accomplish my goal. I understand it still forms the core of Berklee's guitar program so it seems to be pretty tried and true. Would like your thoughts on this text or any other's that will help me really lay the proper foundation.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I teach some students from Leavitt. Overall, it's a very good method, with interesting music and a lot of duets, which are great for timing.

Things I don't like about it (bear in mind that I have an 'I don't like this' list for every method I've ever seen, and Leavitt's is one of two I use regularly - so this isn't meant to be a bad review by any means!)