Notifications
Clear all

Tube Guitar amp Input Transformer Removal

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@shena)
Topic starter  

Hi to all, newbie here ask for help, for a few weeks I've been trying to remove the input transformer from my little 60's Magnatone amp. The schematic indicates a 1:3 step up input transformer, but from reading elsewhere on the internet it seems that it is in fact a 1:1. Whenever the amp is run at the same time as other certain devices in my home e.g. laptop charger, washing machine, it picks up some severe hum (particularly with the washing machine). It sounds a bit like an arc welder. This makes the amp practically unplayable when these appliances are running. I'm certain this hum is being picked up by the input transformer.

Here is the schematic for the amp. The transformer in question is T2. http://www.magnatoneamps.com/schematics/magnatone_401_412.pdf

I have tried bypassing the transformer, connecting a wire from the 10k resistor on the low gain input to the volume pot (and disconnecting from the transformer, which results in greatly increased hum (louder than the guitar) and reduced guitar volume. Connecting a jumper around the 220k resistor and .047 capacitor, to the volume pot ground lug results in a short which shuts off the house's circuit breaker. I cannot see why this occurs as there is no AC or DC http://www.kynix.com/Detail/669784/DC.html voltage between these.

Interestingly, I discovered the heater of the 20EZ7 is wired in reverse compared to the schematic (pin 2 connects to V2 heater, while pin 1 is used as the common return for nearby components e.g. V1 cathode, volume pot ground, 220k resistor and .047 capacitor. I'm not sure if this is relevant to the problem.