Clear all

tuning help

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@mercury187)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I am still really new to playing guitar, have had a couple lessons in the past but decided to try again. Now, I have this tuner: and I thought you were supposed to plug it into the guitar and hit a string and then line tune it up so it lights up green (just like in the picture). I met up with a new instructor last night and he retuned it by ear, then I got home to check out my tuner and now its tuned like this:
E: +10
B: +20(#?)
G: +20(#?)
D: +20(#?)
A: -20(b?)
E: +20(#?)

Do I have the tuner set wrong or using it wrong or something or is that how your supposed to tune it?

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

Guitars don't stay in perfect tune very long. Your new instructor tuned it because it had probably gone out a little, but by the time you got it home, it could easily have changed a little again. (Changes in temperature and humidity can cause it) That's why guitarists, unlike pianists, check the tuning by ear everytime they pick up the guitar (not that many pianists can pick up their piano anyway :D )
Tune it the way you described - that's the correct way.

ReplyQuote
(@mercury187)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

the correct way is to hit a string and tune it until the green light comes on? Theres no way it got that far out of tune on the 5-10 minute drive home...

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

I wouldn't worry too much about it. Tune your guitar using the tuner and play for a bit. You'll be able to tell if the guitar is out of tune after playing a few chords. I always play an open G chord and listen to it carefully.

Do you have brand new strings on the guitar? If not stretched out properly, the strings could go out of tune easily.

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@mercury187)
Trusted Member
Topic starter