Notifications
Clear all

Up stroke help? (Alternate picking?)

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@nevets)
Topic starter  

Disclaimer: I've only been playing guitar for about a week and a half so understand I am not very experienced. However, I still need help.
I understand the fundamentals of alternate picking (Down stroke, up, down up etc) and I can, for the most part, alternate pick when playing only one string.
But when I get to playing more than one string at a time (Chord?) I absolutely can not up stroke for the life of me and I end up trying to downstroke 1/16 notes... which obviously doesn't work lol.
I'm starting to get into real music which requires fast repetitive chords and I, for the life of me, can't play them. I even slap the metronome to a very slow tempo and it's really ugly on the up stroke.
My question is, is there something I should be doing or is it something I just have to sit and mess around with and practice for a while until I can cleanly down and up stroke?
Thanks guys.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

My best guesses...

1. You're gripping the pick too tightly. Stay relaxed.

2. You're not rotating your wrist. When you're strumming chords, you want the pick to glide across the strings (in both directions) rather than slapping at them.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@moresco)
Eminent Member

You know, I don't think I've ever rotated my wrist to do an upstroke...maybe very slightly. But I suppose everyone approaches their playing in a different way.