Clear all

Weird pain in the index finger

23 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@welchsboy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been at the guitar for about 3 months now, and most of the "Finger pain" issues have gone away, except for one...the joint in the middle of my index finger always feels sore and hurts when I touch it. I don't have this problem in any of my other fingers, and the pain is isolated only in the middle joint of my index finger...is this a typical problem or could it be due to how I use my index finger?

(@meebit)
Eminent Member

well I've, so little, experience that I hardly know donkey from frets, but I think it's abit odd that only one finger hurst right now. Maybe your low E is higher than your other strings so it takes more force to fret it? Or maybe you have issues there. I dunno.

I've been drinking so maybe I'm, too drunk to know, lol. haha. etc.

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

I'm not a doctor but it could be tendonitis in the joint, which can be aggravated by overuse.

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@stengah)
Trusted Member

I would take a break from playing for a while till it heals up a bit. If it keeps happening you might want to see a doctor just in case. It's hard to say wether it's just on the outside where you're pushing down on the strings, or an actuall tendon or something.

ReplyQuote
(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member

I had this same problem in the summer of last year. It had nothing to do with guitar, but I know the exact feeling you're talking about. I actually got it in my ring finger on my right hand while playing basketball (when up for a rebound and yea...stubbed it).