Skip to content
What are some good ...

Notifications
Clear all

What are some good brands of electric guitars for beginners?

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@pyr0-fr0ggy)
Topic starter  

I am a five-year music student (on trumpet) who is very interested in learning guitar. I realize that there are many brands out there, and that some are better than others, but I had one particular guitar in mind (a starter pack) from Yamaha. Here is a link to it: http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=10027412&whse=BC&topnav=&cat=1515&hierPath=79*1515*
So if anybody who has experience could tell me if this would be a good choice, if this is a good brand or not, if you have had any experience with Yamaha, or if you have any other suggestions, please tell me.

(@mikey007)
Estimable Member

hey...i'm not much of an electric guy....i like my acoustic...but that yamaha doens't look bad for a begginer....and it depends what sounds u are looking for. I know squire is a good name but most only have singe coil pickups. So if u want a deeper hard rock sounds,...find a guitar with humbuckers..

Mikey

ReplyQuote
(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

Welcome to guitarnoise pyr0... whatever. The yamaha is a good guitar, dont know about the amp tho. Other packs are squeir(which is a fender company): http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/511681/ , the epiphone(a gibson company): http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/518745/ , and all of them: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search?c=6243

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@weedyrs)
Eminent Member

You can find a nice fender for a good price, and Fenders are great guitars.

ReplyQuote
(@strife)
Eminent Member