Notifications
Clear all

What brand/type of strings?

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@aluth23)
Topic starter  

I'm new to the guitar and got a morris acoustic guitar. It had strings on it that were probably from 1980 when it was given to me and the first day i tried to tune it one busted, everything i read said to put all new one's on so i went to best buy and bought these...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7805896&st=guitar+strings&lp=2&type=product&cp=1&id=1157067060756

Sadly i live in a small town and the only music shop is closed when i would be able to go to it so best buy was my only choice, next to walmart (shuders). I've been playing for about two weeks, an hour a day and my fingers don't' seem to be getting much better. am i a wuss and need to stick with it, or are these strings not the right type for a beginner? They are really hard to press down and i can make the chords but have to press down extremely hard to make them ring clear. I don't know much about the brand of guitar i have or the year for that, but the strings sit about 3/16th of an inch from the fret board. Any suggestions would be great cause i am going to have to order strings from the net and don't really know where to start looking!

:oops: Thanks, A

And I'm just fine with all my time
To live until I die~B.C.

(@clazon)
Honorable Member

It will be hard on whatever strings you get in the beginning to get a clear sound! Unfortunately...

Sticking with it will always help with guitar and musical instruments in general. A standard set of Martin 9s (strings are spoken about as regards the width of their highest pitched/1st string) for an acoustic guitar should be fine. For an acoustic guitar you want brass strings- not nylon (classical guitars) or steel (electric).

If you have any more doubts about the early stages by all means ask. I remember I was pretty insecure about stuff like this when I first started.

"Today is what it means to be young..."