Skip to content
What do you play wh...

Notifications
Clear all

What do you play when checking out a new guitar?

27 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

When I go to the guitar store and look at guitars. it really makes me realize how little I've learned, watching so many people play while I'm there. I know everyone says to try out several guitars before buying, but there's not alot I can play at this point except a few chords and a couple of warm up exercises. Was just curious in hearing what different people played when they are looking at a new guitar

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I've been pretty much in the same boat as you and I think most beginner's are.

You can have one of the guitar techs at the store play it for you if you want to hear a particular style of music your inot but can't play yet.

I looked at it this way. Since I'm really a beginner I didn't plan on buying the guitar of a lifetime the first time, since I have no idea what sound/tone I was looking for.

I think I looked more at the style/type of guitar, then went in and really checked out the feel of the giuitar more than anything.

When I started a bought an Epiphone SG copy mainly because I liked the looks and once I got it home it was great. I always wanted a Strat so when I was looking for a Strat I just went in an tried a few for fell (they all pretty much felt the same) and then picked a color. The guitar is great and I'm glad I got it.

Come up with a list of criteria that's important to you and if it includes playing some stuff that you can't right now someone can help you out, otherwise if your buying a guitar from a reputable mfg like Fender or Gibson etc., I think you'll bve pretty safe.