Skip to content
What does it mean w...

Notifications
Clear all

What does it mean when a guitar is "Easy to play"?

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@tyler-n)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, I have been playing guitar (acoustic) for about 7 months now, and have only ever touched my Ibanez PF300 acoustic. My question was, when I hear the term that guitar is "easy to play" what are the factors that make a guitar deemed “Easy to Play”. I heard Taylor guitars are labeled Easy to Play? But having never touched one, what makes them easy to play? I am very confused, for I am thinking now, that some guitars built easy or hard to play?

Is that what that means? Can you guys who have played and handled many types of guitars elaborate what makes a guitar easy to play.

I am curious because I think I may have a guitar that is built harder to play and is hindering my progress, and I may not even know it.

Thank you(s)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TxmW-rIGFA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAvejpRYsQM
my idol

(@bgdaddy316)
Reputable Member

It seems to me that the biggest factor would be the action of the guitar, or how high the strings are off of the neck of the guitar. If the action is too high or too low, it can make it very hard to play. How wide or thick the neck is could be a factor too.

ReplyQuote
(@tyler-n)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

How wide or thick the neck is could be a factor too.

Can you elaborate more on this. Thanks for the reply firstly.

Um now you say? the width of the neck can be a factor?

Now the width? would that be the height of the neck for example measuring a fret vertical from bottom to top? or is the width the thickness of the neck? um the diameter of the whole thing? like how much neck you have to hold on your hand

sorry i Know my terms are vague, but I dont know how to describe =/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TxmW-rIGFA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAvejpRYsQM
my idol

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member