what should I be being taught???

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@mushin)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

this sort of follows on from Chris's thread but gets more into the nitty gritty of a particular situation.....

I have been learning to play since earlier this year. Pretty much self taught (I don't actually like referring to it as self taught as all the subject matter is from others) with a few DVDs, Books and Websites (especially this one).

Recently I returned from an overseas assignment and started up lessons with my daughter's teacher. He had been teaching her for 1 month prior to me coming on board. I have my 3rd lesson with him tomorrow.

My question to you all is what should I be being taught?

At this stage, we are at the " what do you want to learn?" stage. I appreciate that this stage is important to get those who need it interested and hooked on guitar....it works a treat for my daughter...but for me I am looking for more definitive stuff. I have been going there with whatever I am currently working on and ask specific questions as to strumming, listening etc. (mind you this has only been 2 lessons). I am used to a lot more structure to any learning I do so jumping from riff to riff etc doesnt really do much for me. I am at the stage where I want to be learning a complete song, but I suppose I don't want him to teach ne the song, I want him to equip me with the tools to play.

At this stage I am yet to see a structure for the subject matter be put forward- I have watched my daughters lessons and mine and it has been " what do you want to cover today? give me the CD and we will tab it out and start to go over it." At the end there is a recap. These are 30 min lessons.