Clear all

What to do with scales?

18 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@nolongerme)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Im new to playing guitar and i dont understand scales. what are they good for other than just playing them and working on fingering?

do you use them to write songs?

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

You usually use notes from a particular scale to write songs. I might write a song "in G major", meaning that I use mostly notes from the G major scale (G A B C D E F# G) and center it around a G note. Knowing scales (by note name) is also a good way to learn the fretboard.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Think of scales as a way to abstract music. Let's assume that you have a husband and wife, who both like to sing. The husband sings bass and the wife sings alto.
Worse still, they both have different natural keys - the husband sings best in G and the wife in E. What that means is that the husband sings best when he uses the note G as his central point - so he will also use the scale of G (G, A, B, C, D, E, F#, G) as his "home" scale. His wife, though, will be most at home with E as her pivot point, so she will use the scale of E - E, F#, G#, A, B, C#, D#, E.

The intervals between the notes in G are the same as in E - W(hole tone), W, H(alf tone), W, W, W, H.

It means that I can write a song in C, for example, and be able to transpose that song to both G and E, without much trouble and both husband and wife will be able to sing the song.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

scales are important. they map out your fretboard.

a scale on one string is pretty easy. E F G A B C D E

using the first string it goes right up the fret board.
now trey the same scale going across the fret board. not as easy.

find the E on the lowest string then the F etc.