Clear all

What to practice

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Jedelson
(@jedelson)
Topic starter  

I started playing guitar one year ago and have been taking lessons weekly. My lessons are heavily academic and I would like to complement the academic side by learning how to play songs in more of a freeflowing fashion. I know how to read music but would like to learn to play using my ears as opposed to my eyes. I would also very much like to learn how to combine chords and melody while playing as opposed to playing just chords or just melody. Does anyone have any suggestions?

mess
 mess
(@mess)
Eminent Member

Playing every melody you hear is a great start. Like when you watch TV, play the melody in the jingle, play the theme song, on and on. Just sound it out and be patient.

Combining chords and melody involves a lot of finger dexterity. Knowing your chords, and knowing where your chord tones are in the chord, is a big deal. The sounds I think you're describing are chords strung together with scale notes and sometimes just plain chromaticism.

ReplyQuote
Voodoo_Merman
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

You answered your own question far better than anybody on this board could. Get started immediately. Don't wait any longer, just do it. Don't wait for suggestions or motivations from anybody. Just get started the best way you know how.

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
Blueline
(@blueline)
Noble Member

Hi Welcome to GN.
Let me start by saying that I do not know how to read music and I've never taken a lesson. I've learned how to play guitar by ear. The method I use is simple. Pick one of your favorite songs, sit down with your guitar, a piece of paper and a pencil.