Clear all

Whats the best way to tune a guitar?

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@vazeaneesh)
Topic starter  

Hii Friends,
Well as some of u know and some of u must have guessed already I have just stated playing the guitar. I got the advice as how to start playing and stuff. Thanks everyone.Special thanks to matt.
Now deing a rookie I guess I have made the most popular mistake an rookie would make. Well now when I started playing the guitar I noticed I need to tune it first properly. And I have even heard that you need to keep tuning it everytime or alternately when you use it (cause climate can affect on the strings or something). Well guys is there anyone out here who can tell me everything there is to learn about tuning an guitar. YOu see I dont want to learn and play the wrong tune. (Yes thats right....I am a total new bee guys) Pleas I need your expert sugessions.

Thanks

Aneesh

ANEESH

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

The better your guitar and tuning machines, the more stable it will be and the less often you'll tune it. Changes in temperature will affect the tuning -- metal contracts when cold -- notes go sharp -- and expands when warm -- notes go flat.

As far as the actual process of tuning it goes, I highly recommend buying an electronic tuner. It will read the note you strike and tell you precisely if you're in tune, a bit sharp or a bit flat. Buy a chromatic, electronic tuner. That means that it shows every possible note, sharps and flats included. It's easier to tune with the chromatic tuner and it comes in handy should you decide to use alternate tuning.

Most of the time, I use standard tuning. There are some songs I play that use an alternate tuning -- usually Keith Richards and Neil Young stuff.