Skip to content
When to switch from...

Notifications
Clear all

When to switch from acoustic to electric guitar?

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@literatea)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

So I'm a beginner to guitar and I've been self-teaching myself how to play for the past 2-3 months on an acoustic. I'm still working on chords and practicing reading tabs and stuff. Eventually, I want to switch to an electric guitar because a lot of the songs I listen to are classic rock--I'm far from being able to play those songs right now, but I want to be able to someday. When is it ideal to switch from the acoustic to electric guitar especially as a beginner?

Also, what kind/brand of electric guitars, amps, and distortion pedals do you guys recommend for a beginner? So far I've got my eyes on the Squier standard Stratocaster set or the Epiphone Les Paul set at guitar center because it doesn't bust my wallet. I'm a little iffy because I do want to invest in something that still sounds decent at least.. Thanks! :D

(@alangreen)

There's no reason why you can't start with electric from day one.

Squier (part of Fender) and Epiphone (owned by Gibson) both make excellent guitars, their Chinese assembly plants mean you can get either quite inexpensively.

Amps - anything by Marshall will give you that classic rock sound and, again, you can get them without busting the bank. Line 6 make excellent modelling amps if you want to sound like lots of other people.

Pedals - Boss make the best, but you can buy guitars for less money. I have Danelectro pedals in my electric guitar front line (bought off Ebay for low cost)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@literatea)
Topic starter  

Great, thanks for your input Alan!

ReplyQuote
(@cloudyifr)