Clear all

Where do I start?

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@daren)
Topic starter  

Hello,

Im a beginner and Ive ordered a Yamaha Fs720 small bodied accoustic guitar and should get it by the end of the week.

Im not new to playing musical instruments I play keyboards and I have achieved a ABRSM grade 8 on piano so I can read music,and have very good theory knowledge.I hope I can make the switch to guitar and make good progress.

What coarse do you think is ideal for an adult begginner that will start me off and be progressive?
Do I learn the guitar using tab or notation?

Regards
Daz

(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

If you already know how to read music, I'd suggest you start by learning/memorizing the notes on the guitar so you can play sheet music.

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

I've started 8 months ago so take that into consideration with my advice.
Getting a teacher is probably the best start.
I don't use a teacher (so even I don't take my own advice)
I did buy a DVD lesson though. I got a 1 disk DVD when I bought my guitar.
It introduced the "need to know things" like what notes the open strings are, how to tune a guitar, how to restring your guitar, and some open chords and some barre chords. It came with a book that has practice exercises.
So I would suggest a DVD/book lesson if you're not going to get a teacher.

I also bought the more expensive and more extensive "Learn and Master the Guitar" DVD package which comes with jam session CDs so you can have a little fun with some background music to play along with. It also comes with a practice book and includes songs so that you can start playing something right away. And as you learn more it introduces more songs that reinforce what you learn. Geez, I didn't mean to sound like a commercial, so I'll stop.

Welcome to GN and
Good luck on your journey,
KR2