Notifications
Clear all

Which Amp?

42 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Anyhow, wait for our expert friends to chime in.

Well, I am certainly no expert, but I have lots of experience playing in a band situation with other instruments and guitarists.

That Line 6 amp may be very good. I have used them before and seen bands that use them. They do sound good. I have seen instances where they do not cut through good for solos, but this can be remedied.

The problem with amps like this, or even multi-effects pedals is that the presets are set up to sound fantastic in the music store or bedroom volume levels by yourself. And they do sound amazing in these situations. But playing in a band with other instruments is very different and you usually have to tweak all the presets to make them work well in these situations. For EQ, you almost always have to boost your Mids and cut your Lows. They will come with famous scooped Mids tone that sounds unreal in your bedroom. In a live situation with a bass player, drummer, and another guitarist you will wonder where your sound went. You can max your amp and still not hear yourself. So you have to set the amp up for live playing. And super distortions that sound fantastic at bedroom levels sound like a bunch of mad bees at high volumes. You usually have to come down on gain quite a bit.

So try the amp and see if you like it, but realize you are going to have to sit down with the manual and learn how to tweak all the presets to work in live situations. Now once you get it tweaked for live performance, it may not sound so great in the bedroom. They are just completely different worlds sonically. But amps like this are perfectly fine and can get great sounds if properly tweaked.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@citizennoir)
Noble Member

Well, I'm certainly no expert either....
Though I have to say that I do not care for modeling amps one bit.