Clear all

Which Chords go together?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@deadat27)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Im just getting into theory and Id like to know which chords compliment eachother?

I've noticed that the E minor and G major sound great and made a cool song using those two but others like an E minor and A major dont sound too good, perhaps it's the tuning of my guitar.

Can you make it easier for me by helping out on this one.

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

I haven't fully grasped it all yet, but Tom Serb's new article on chord progressions might have the info you're looking for:
https://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=487

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I outlined common changes, but I didn't really get into the 'why' chord changes work, and it's pretty simple - there's a common note between the two chords. That gives your ear something to hang on to...

Changes to the relative minor share two tones:

G = G-B-D
Em = E-G-B

Most common changes, like C-F, work because they share one tone:

C = C-E-G
F = F-A-C

and so does G7-C:

G7 = G-B-D-F
C = C-E-G

There are plenty of exceptions, though. Take that Em-A:

Em = E-G-B
A = A-C#-E

They've got a common tone, so a composer might harmonize that way... but you're also changing chord type (minor to major). If I had to make a really basic rule of thumb, it would be this:

if you go from a major to a minor, or minor to major, have two common chord tones

if you go from major to major, minor to minor, or seventh to major or minor, one common tone will do.

It's actually more complicated than that - G7 to B isn't going to sound very sweet - but a short answer isn't going to squeeze in the whole field of harmony :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

My band does a cover of Down By the River by Neil Young. The song starts out going from Em to A. (actually Em7 to A). Sounds good.