Notifications
Clear all

Which of these would be the least difficult to learn

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@scoops-callahan)
Topic starter  

I recently got 2 Hal Leonard play along books and CDs. These are the 8 songs in each book. What would you recommend me tackling first? The songs are below. A little background. I've been playing for about 9 months. I've really tried to shy away from tackling full songs and focusing on finger dexterity, rhythm, the real basics. I try and play between 5 and 7 hours a week. I know a lot of scales and stuff like that but I want to tackle a song and learn it all the way through. All I can play right now that is some what recognizable is the opening riff of Back in Black, every Rose Has It's Thorn, and a Bob Seger song called "Shame on the Moon". The only song I can play all the way through by memory is the Star Spangled Banner. I've also gone all the way through some very basic books called "You're in the Band" that have some pretty easy original songs by the author and it had a play along CD which I liked quite a bit.

Can't You See * Flirtin' with Disaster * Hold on Loosely * Jessica * Mississippi Queen * Ramblin' Man * Sweet Home Alabama * What's Your Name.

Angie, Behind Blue Eyes, Best of My Love, Blackbird, Dust in the Wind, Layla, Night Moves, Yesterday

Thanks.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

IMO the second set of tunes is easier.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@boxboy)
Noble Member

I agree with Noteboat. Angie, Behind Blue Eyes and Night Moves stand out.
They seem like 'classic song' type books because the skill level required doesn't seem very consistent. The other book has some really tricky stuff. Don't know all the songs, but I definitely wouldn't tackle Jessica or Ramblin' Man just yet. :shock:
Regardless, have fun!
:)

Don

ReplyQuote
(@kcfenderfan)
Honorable Member