Skip to content
Who has 6 fingers f...

Notifications
Clear all

Who has 6 fingers for those darn nasty chords??

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sonata)
Topic starter  

Hiya, I'm relatively new at playing the guitar. I've only been practicing every other day for the past 2 months. I can play simple melodies and a couple chords. However, I decided to challenge myself by playing some of the more popular and harder songs (who wants to play happy brithday song or silent night over and over??).

I'm trying to play Nickelback's Hero (in the Spiderman movie). Its quite a step up but I want to experiment with what the limit of my current skill is (I tried Far Away by Nickelback also, but man it's too fast). There are many chords in this song that are driving me crazy. Press down in 6 places but I only have 5 fingers O.O and my hand isn't that big (asian hand! DAM!) so I can't cover the distance well.

Anyways, here is a link to the tab that I'm practicing:: http://www.thetabworld.com/Nickelback__Hero_Ver_2_guitar_tab.html

If anyone can give me some tips on how to place my fingers for F, G#, A#, and C chords, I would appreciate it very much.

(@off-he-goes)
Noble Member

They're called barre chords. Seem to be a bit of a problem with a lot of people.

They're also named wrong. They should me minor chords. Anyway, take the first one, Fm.

The goal is to use your index finger to block off an entire fret. The first fret in the case. Next, you make an Em shape with any two of your remaining fingers. the would be the notes in the third fret.

It will take some time to get them down, I just learned every Jack Johnson song I could, and they came easy, I never had anyone teach me them, so I'm sure you'll do fine, it just takes time.

Good luck!

Paul

Vacate is the word...Vengance has no place on me or her...Cannot find a comfort in this world.

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

Sonata: