Clear all

whos taken lessons for a while?

11 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@mercury187)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi all, I've been taking lessons for just over a year now from a local musician that also teaches. I was wondering if I could hear from other people that have been taking lessons for a while because after a year I really only know basic chords and maybe a scale, other than that I can play parts of songs but that's about it. If someone is a complete beginner to music is there any hope for one day understanding guitar and how to write songs? Every time I go to my lesson he just says so what do you want to do today? I have said before well what should we do and we've messed around with like guitar slides and other stuff but he always asks me what we're going to do and well if I dont really have any knowledge of anything shouldn't he be guiding me? I've been starting to wonder if people that take lessons just learn to become hacks or something and just end up playing other peoples songs. I mean how much can one really progress anyway by only spending 30 minutes a week with an instructor who is just there to make money. Maybe I should be looking for another instructor or take lessons from a different instructor later on in the week or something, I just dont feel like I'm learning a whole lot other than just play these notes or these chords with this strum pattern for this song...

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Just my opinion, but a teacher who doesn't have a lesson plan isn't a teacher - he's someone you're paying to jam with you.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@kroikey)
Reputable Member