Notifications
Clear all

why different tone?

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@txpilot)
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 3 months now and everything is going good. I broke a string tuning the other day and when I was picking up new strings I couldn't remember if I had Martin extra light strings or light ones. I bought the light ones, but I had extra lights on there before.

Now my guitars tone sucks, it has a strong metallic sound now. With the extra light strings it sounded great, especially for a cheap guitar. I was wondering if its because of the change of the strings, or did I screw something up (that being entirely possible seeing its only the second time I've ever changed strings). If I did something wrong, any ideas about what might cause it to sound weird?

Thanks, John

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

It's probably just the new strings. The do have a much sharper edge than older strings, which will subside with time. If your old strings were well past it, they would sound very flat and dull compared to your new strings - give it a day or two for the new ones to settle down.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@chilly-well-water)

I say what greybeard said. I have a friend that says strings never sound better than when they were just put on. I think they sound too bright then and think they sound best after about a week of playing.

ReplyQuote
(@manitou)
Estimable Member