Skip to content
Why do I feel like ...

Notifications
Clear all

Why do I feel like I'm not learning anything new?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@gnaffdaz)
Topic starter  

Hi there! My names JT. This is my first time posting (insert generic introductory statement here).

I just picked up the guitar last summer and I feel like my progress happened relatively fast. I spent a number of years playing piano -- writing compositions, lyrics, live performance and things of the like -- which I believe was a perfect prelude to composing with a guitar.

I'm in a bit of a bind though... I really don't feel like I'm making any noticeable progress with the guitar. As far as technique is concerned, I can play some pretty complicated riffs, strummed chords and arpeggiated chords but I don't feel like my knowledge of chords is growing. I feel like most of my knowledge has been limited to the common chords, A, Am, D, D7, E, Em, F, G and a couple other chords I discovered on "accident".
This is causing my compositions to become stagnant; they all seem to sounds the same, or similar.

I would really like to avoid using covers as practive because I feel as though it borrows from the creative nature of a musicians style. I'm really trying to develop my own unique style but I can't seem to work my way out of this hole.

Could anyone offer any advice on how I can practice eith a broader range of chords without using covers as a foundation?

(@zaidrockso)

The caged system, google it, it's alot of work although once you're done with it you can play practically any chord.

http://www.soundcloud.com/zaidlutfi
http://www.zaidlutfi.com

ReplyQuote
(@gilbertog)

Read George Leonard's book "Mastery"

You will find the answer there ;)

P.S -> It's called a plateau

"What we call 'mastery' can be defined as that mysterious process through which what is at first difficult or even impossible becomes easy and pleasurable through diligent, patient, long-term practice.” ― George Leonard

ReplyQuote