Clear all

why EADGBE?

16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@thedonutman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ive been playing bass for almost 2 years now, and ive finally decided to buy a guitar.

however one thing i dont get is,

why on earth do you tune to EADGBE? since the top 4 strings are 4ths apart and then there is a 3rd and then another 4th! why?

So doesnt this make you have to change your power chords and scale patterns and everything?

I might be missing something vital here, but i just really cant figure it out. can someone please help me

(@manitou)
Estimable Member

Im sure Note Boat will come along and show me up, but I beleive it is the circle of fifts concept which takes you back to E, and this gives you 2 octaves in first position and 6 over all 24 frets.
Also, I remember reading somewhere that the configuration on a standard tuned guitar gives you the easiest possible chording of all the major patterns but I dont know enough about chord theory to tell you why this is.

SHUT UP ABOUT IRON MAIDEN SOLOS AND GO PRACTICE!
-Manitou

ReplyQuote
(@thedonutman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

So basically, the standard tuning will make it easier to play full chords, whereas the 4ths tuning will make it easier to play power chords?

ReplyQuote
(@oktay)
Reputable Member

Aren't power chords usually played on strings 6,5,4 and 5,4,3 ? Those are easy enough. The shape is the same. I do know there's a different shape for the higher strings which account for the seeming discrepency in the way the guitar is tuned but I doubt those power chords (with mostly the treble strings) are used much.

oktay

ReplyQuote
(@jasonrunguitar)
Reputable Member