Clear all

Wrist and Thumb pain !

23 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
10.9 K Views
(@lentini)
Topic starter  

Hello there - I haven't really found too much in the forum about this problem- And I wondered if any one else had experienced anything similar with pains in their thumb and wrist ( fretting hand ) and what they did to alleviate it... I have been learning acoustic for approx 6 months. I can remember when I first started learning open chords that I would get a pain in the base of my thumb the morning after practice..This eventually went away. But..... It's back again ( mostly whilst trying to perform Barre chords.) I'm fine during practice and after but the next morning my fretting thumb / arm kills ! ( I sometimes practice 2 Hrs ) Eventually I had to give it a rest and went to see the doctor. He told me that there didn't appear to be any lasting damage or signs of anything serious and sent me packing with some anti - imflams and instruction to rest. This I did and after approx 2 weeks I picked up my guitar and resumed practice. Everything was fine and even my Barre chords seemed better and less forced with no pain ! I thought that maybe because I was concentrating on my posture / hand position that I had corrected whatever was wrong...But NO after about a week the pain came back ( I was practicing songs with Barres again ! ) The pain seems to be centered in the base of my thumb and slightly in the wrist / arm sometimes... The thumb also "cracks" like crazy after a session....Just for info my tutor has monitored my hand positioning and is happy with it. I've also read and studied images and my hand placement looks fine....( It doesn't hurt at the time it's the morning after ! ) Sorry for the long post but it's really p#####g me off as all I want to do is practice....I'm hoping as I'm now mixing up my practice sessions with a smaller amount of time spent on individual techniques that my barring etc will eventually become less of an effort and thepain will go away.... Th