Clear all

Young Grandma Learning Guitar

18 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@jbelton)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been learning (mostly self taught) acoustic guitar for about three years now. Is it my age (49) or am I not real coordinated? My step son who is 12 starting learning electric guitar about a year and half ago (he does have lessons)and he is all over the fret board with speedy fingers. Whereas it takes me months to learn one song. I can strum very well, fingerpick pretty good but can't pick notes much at all. (been trying needle and the damage done FOREVER!)

How long does it take to get the muscle memory full swing and what practice do you suggest? I mostly practice songs I like. I practice some scales but don't really see the point until I'm at a stage where I'm ready to improvise with other players and that won't be until I'm an old grandma!

Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN, granny. :wink:

I'm no where near the expert on this topic but do have some experience. With me, I don't know theory but guitar and most instruments have come naturally for me. Other's will spend countless hours learning to play and will do well and succeed. Everyone has their own learning curve and interest in terms of where you want to take your playing and where you want your playing to take you.

Play from the heart and then from the mind and then the book.

Regardless, enjoy what you are doing and don't worry about a time line.

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

ReplyQuote
(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

great advice bish...

if you can strum well then thats the most important bit sorted...the best melodies are the simplest..just a few notes played well and tinkered (pull off,hammer etc)....they stick in the mind and become a song's hook

so no need to be all over the fretboard...honest :roll:

as bish said.....what timescale????

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

ReplyQuote