Skip to content
You've probably hea...

Notifications
Clear all

You've probably heard this a thousand times but...

17 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@starbellyblu)
Topic starter  

Hello all. I am thinking about learning the guitar. I am an absolute beginner. I love music but have never been able to carry a tune vocally. I have been a dancer all my life, it is my passion as it is a way for me to be in touch with the music I love. I have reached a point of my life where I want to fufill some of my dreams and one of those is to be able to create music.

I have always been fearful of learning because of my inability to sing and my complete lack of experience with any musical instrument.

Some beginner questions I have are...

what type of guitar should I buy - I like blues and rock music but am not tied to them...I have a budget of 100-400
and how should I begin to learn? Privately? Is there a good school in the toronto area someone could recommend?

Any advice, suggestions would be very much appreciated,

Thanks in advance

starblu

(@corbind)
Noble Member

Welcome to the world of music! I've been where you are so just think about this for a minute. There are maybe 500 active members here posting. Do you think we are some magical gods who were put on this Earth to play guitar? I know I started just like you. I knew nothing and asked the same questions. Heck, I didn't even know what questions to ask!

Remember when you were a kid and your (insert relative here) first tried to teach you to ride? How many times did you crash? I was about 5 and I remember not knowing how to stop and I flew over a bush into some metal bars. Anyway, we both eventually learned how to do it.

Ok, now that that is out of the way, I'd suggest a starter pack. My best friend started on one and I thought it was a good value for $200:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Special-II-Player-Pack?sku=518677