Skip to content
How to figure out s...

Notifications
Clear all

How to figure out strumming patterns for songs?

15 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@rottet)
Topic starter  

I am fairly new to playing (about 6 months now) and I love it. Have gotten to the point where I can play and change between enough open chords to play many songs. The problem is that my playing usually doesn't sound like the songs (sometimes a little, sometimes not at all). OK, so my chord changes are still a bit weak...Anyway, I believe the main problem is with properly strumming a song. Does anyone have advice on how to determine the strumming pattern for a song. What to listen for? Maybe this is just a lack of my music theory knowledge??? Occasionally a tab will have the strumming pattern and it is totally different than what I had tried before I had the pattern. Any idea what I may be missing?

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don't.

(@margaret)
Noble Member

Hi Rottet,

I'm still pretty much a beginner myself, and unfortunately, I don't have any great words of wisdom for figuring out strumming patterns. I'll be eager to read any other responses you get to this question, as it's a question I've had as well.

There are a few songs that I've heard SO many times in my life (Maggie May and several CCR songs come to mind), that the strumming patterns just seem innate as I can distinctly "hear" the full band/recorded version in my head as I play the chords.

For everything else, as beginners, we may have to just ask others for a suggested strum pattern for a particular song, and try that out until it feels natural and we start inserting our own variations that feel right.

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@rodders)
Noble Member

Here is a good site for strumming patterns. Gives you loads of examples. I have found it very helpful in the past.