Clear all

Journeyman - Iron Maiden

3 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
(@matteo)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Ok, this is my first try, so be gentle with me! The song is an acoustic ballad taken from “Dance of death”, the last studio album from Iron Maiden and by the way is one the few songs that I can play decently :D . I think it is an useful song to play for people who have been playing guitar from a few months, because there are quite alot chords but the strummin pattern, even if a bit tricky, remains the same for all the song. Premise: I've not included intro and the long instrumental part among verse 2 and 3, so this is like a song book version with the chords for the sang parts only.

So here is the song with lyrics:

Verse 1:

F F A A
From the red sky of the east to the sunset in the west
F F A A
We have cheated death and he has cheated us
F F A A
But that was just a dream and this is what it means
F F A A
We are sleeping and we'll dream for evermore

Bridge:

C D A A
And the fragment remains of our memories
C D G G
And the shadows remain with our hands
C D F G
Deep grey, came to mourn, all the colours of the dawn
C D A A
Will this Journeymans day be his last?

chorus: <3x>
Dm F
I know what I want and I say what I want
C Bb C
And no one can take it awa-ay

<1x>
d F
C Bb Bb d d
And no one can take it away - Aaah

Verse 2 and 3 (same chords as verse 1)

But the memory still remains all the past years not so strange
Our winter times are like a silent shroud
And the heartbeat of the day drives the mist away
And winter's not the only dream around

In your life you may choose desolation
And the shadows you build with your hands
If you turn to the light that is burning in the night
Then the Journeyman's day has begun

(chorus, repeated in the end of the song, same chords as the first chorus).

And no one can take it away

Now a few words about the chords: