Clear all

delay

20 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

When people take a solo, i would bet that overdrive or distortion is used a good 90% of the time. i also assume that there will be some reverb setting on the amp.

im just curious how many people also use a short slapback of delay as a routine when they play lead - im beginning to think this is more common than i used to think, am i missing out?

and if not delay, do some of you routinely use other things like chorus etc.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I delay quite often. either slapback or one of the three settings on my delay pedal.
a few miliseconds adds to my sustain. reverb is good, but adding a touch of delay adds much to my sound.
I used to avoid the Tap Tempo but have considered it and find when I dial in just right I get a bit of shimmer.
it sounds much different than chorus, which really messes with my tone.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Since I'm not all that fast a player, I like to use delay as a way to create a bit more energy. Hitting the "tap timer" on the beat or every other beat means that I can play a simple lead line and end up playing harmony with myself (as long as I get the notes right!) Going with the tap timer on the half beat can create a bit of a "waterfall" effect that I like.

Thing is that this sort of thing can get old pretty fast, so I try to use it sparingly.

Slapback is a staple for a rockabilly sound, so it's good to keep in your pocket as well.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member