Clear all

Distortion pedals: A basic question

21 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@dan_54321)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for a few years, and apart from upgrading my amp I've never really dabbled much with peripherals or effects. My knowledge of distortion pedals and such is pretty limited I've been considering buying a distortion pedal, but I've got a pretty basic question:

Do most guitarists use a distortion pedal coupled with their amp, if so whats the main reason for this? I know this is a really stupid question, but I've never fully understood why a distortion pedal would be necessary if the amplifier produces distortion anyway? I'm assuming this is to get a better tone, but if someones playing through an expensive tube amp which produces great sounds anyway whats the need for a distortion pedal, apart from changing between clean and overdriven tones in a song? Are there any professional musicians who don't use effects pedals?

(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

I don't use it, I use overdrive for an amp that sounds great overdriven. I'm not sure if there's a fine line or even if there's a difference or what the difference is between distortion & overdrive. I think distortion is a little fuzzier.

I would use pedals so I wouldn't have keep changing the settings on my amp to get the sound i was looking for at any given moment.

Even with Bad Monkey, an overdrive pedal, I would it to get more overdrive during a solo & then go back to regular.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

You've partially answered your own question there, Dan - changing from clean to overdriven, or vice versa, it's a lot easier to put your foot down on a pedal than it is to fiddle with amp settings....and it leaves both hands still on the guitar!

I don't own any pedals whatsoever, though like you I'm thinking it might be an idea to have at least a distortion pedal - for the above reason.

:D :D :D

Vic