Clear all

Overdrive/boost/dirty amp philosophy

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
10.8 K Views
(@devro)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I'm hoping you can help with a question I've struggled with since starting to mess around with amp settings and OD/distortion pedals.

I have recently begun to throw a small pedalboard together and am having a tough time deciding what the best strategy is to achieve all of the sounds I want. I am a hobbyist not a gigging musician, and but for a student band gig twice a year with other students where I take guitar lessons I play in the basement sometimes with buddies.

I have a 15 watt Vox AC15C1, which provides some really nice overdriven sounds, and I have a TS808 that the previous owner modded for true bypass, a better switch and a brighter LED.

My question is what the best strategy is for playing a somewhat broad range of rock and blues tunes, and what equipment is necessary to play a few different styles in one set without making major changes to my amp and pedals throughout the performance.

I can't set my amp too dirty or it will be over the top for more mellow songs, but isn't it a bit of a waste of its natural sweet overdriven sound to run it completely clean and only use pedals for OD/slight Distortion?

Is there a strategy using combination of amp, OD pedals, and maybe a boost to play songs ranging from mellow to fairly overdriven, as well as something to help boost for solos at the appropriate level of gain for each song?

Sorry for the long explanation, want to be clear so you understand what I'm really after.

Thanks for your help!

(@alangreen)

I like to run my amp on clean or crunch and then deal with all the OD sounds through my frontline. It avoids having to fiddle with the amp settings during a show and I can twiddle pedal knobs if I need to without turning my back to the audience.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"