Clear all

an incredibly beginners question

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i am sure everybody here but me knows what the following term means, so i apologise for asking, but what does the term "tonal center" mean, and how do i achieve a tonal center of a particular note in a chord progression??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@blutic1)
Reputable Member

To put it simply, it's the tone (or note) that is the "home base" of the song. Look at the sheet music or tab for a song. The most common note is the tonal center.

edit- I knew I was going to get nailed for such a simple response. :D I should have said the most common note is "usually" the tonal center.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

The most common note is the tonal center.

Not true!

People often say the tonal center is the first note, or the last note, or the one most commonly used - but there are enough exceptions to each of those that they're pretty useless in determining the true center.

Sing "Happy Birthday". If you're singing in the key of C, G will be sung more often than any other note... about twice as often as the tonal center. (This song also disproves another common misconception, that the tonal center is the first note.)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@katmetal)
Prominent Member

Sing "Happy Birthday". If you're singing in the key of C, G will be sung more often than any other note... about twice as often as the tonal center. (This song also disproves another common misconception, that the tonal center is the first note.)
ARRGGG!!! Thanks for the "earworm", NoteBoat! I'll be hearing that one for weeks now! I just succeeded in purging "Jordan" by Buckethead from my brain, & now I've replaced it with "Happy Birthday"! :roll:

ReplyQuote
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member