Clear all

Another confusion chord progression.

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I stumbled on this progression on the Internet and have been playing around with it.

G B7 Em G7 C Cm G

I can see these chords are not all in the same key, and I can also see that the G7 should lead nicely to the C, and that the B7 could lead nicely to the Em.

But I can't make sense of a progression having a C and a Cm?

Also, to me, it sounds very pleasant going into the G7 right through to the end of the progression. I'd like to know what is going on here so I can adopt the ideas in my own writing?

Thanks
Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

It sounds familiar to me....

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Yeah, I just googled the words melodic chord progression, and it came up. I'm not sure what songs it is in

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

It's somewhat a musical tradition at this point to go from the IV to the minor IV to the I chord (C to Cm to G in this case) to end a musical phrase. Tom will know the whys and technical names for it but I'll chip in what observations I can.

If you were to take the entire chord progression you have and make it generic, it would look like this:

I (G) - V7 of vi (B7) - vi (Em) - I7 (G7, which, technically, you could call "V of IV" if you prefer) - IV (C) - mIV (Cm) - I (G)