Clear all

Approach patterns

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Every now and then i hear about "approach patterns"on the guitar, in a context that makes me assume that they are talking about ways of building upto start a solo, or lick.

However, when i google "approach pattern guitar" all i get are lessons on the "box pattern approach" which is not what i want.

Are there "rules" to these approach patterns, in terms of the notes used to create tension etc before the main lick is played or the solo started? Is this something common i seem to have somehow overlooked? or have i actually just misinterpreted the term and it does indeed just mean the "box pattern approach"?

Thanks Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Not knowing for sure but I'm guessing it's the later just a way of 'approaching" solo's using a pattern as a starting point, to my knowledge there are no distinct pattern approachs that guide you into a solo

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It's a bebop term.

When you're improvising bebop, the chords are flying by - it's common for tempos to be 240-300bpm, and it's common to have chord changes every couple of beats. That means having to cope with a new chord every half second or so.

Because of the speed, improvising bebop is tougher, and different from, improvising in other genres. So the pedagogy (the "how do you teach/learn" part) of bebop is pretty much a four-step process:

1. Learn to hit a chord tone (ANY chord tone!) at the change. This gets you thinking about what notes are in the chords as they're flying by.