Clear all

blues scale

23 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Am i right that the blues scale is just a minor pentatonic with the bluesw note added
e.g the A blues scale starts on the 5th fret??
so, the blues scale would be a minor scale then?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

The Blues Scale is the minor pentatonic and it consists of
1) root
2) minor 3rd
3) 4th
4) 5th
5) minor 7th

Many players add the diminished 5th (tri-tone) and often by bending the 4th up a half step on the guitar.

Also, you can make the 9th work in the blues if you are careful where you put it.

But at least as far as what I was taught, the blues scale is the minor pentatonic, especially when played over a major chord.

Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton

Owner, Norton Music http://www.nortonmusic.com Add-on Styles for Band-in-a-Box and Microsoft SongSmith

The Sophisticats http://www.s-cats.com >^. .^< >^. .^<

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Most music theory scholars will tell you that the minor pentatonic scale and the "blues" scale are two different scales. And it's something that folks will argue endlessly over because they can. It makes more sense to call them two different scales, but because the guitarist uses the minor pentatonic so much in blues music a lot of players use the two names interchangeably.

As you've mentioned, the minor pentatonic is the root, flat third, fourth, fifth and flat seventh.

As Notes says, adding the flat fifth will give you the blues scale.

If nothing else, it's good to think of them as two different scales because you'll run into people who will tell you to "play a blues scale" and then you can find out which one they want you to play. :wink: