Notifications
Clear all

F chord

13 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@andy-cap)
Topic starter  

hi, i have been playing guitar for 2 months now, i seem to be having alot of trouble with the f chord. I can not cover the two strings with the same finger. the formation is...
it would be a great help if someone could suggest some tips and the exact finger placement. thanks

Andrew

(@furious_b)
Eminent Member

hey,

First of all, your actully playing an Fmaj7 chord (the same as an F, but with the major 7) But the idea is to bar the entire first fret with your pointer finger and fret the other two with your remaining fingers, alot of chords are built like that. If you want just an F it would have the same shape, but with your finger on the 3rd fret on your D string.

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

First up - welcome to Guitarnoise, Andy-cap

Secondly - it's far too early for you to be trying the F-chord fully barred. Drop it down to using three strings, and work on getting them all sounding clearly for a month. then bring in the fourth string for another month. then the 5th, and the six-string shape will follow on. At the moment, you just don't have the hand strength to get there and you are risking painful long-lasting injuries.

Best

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

First of all, your actully playing an Fmaj7 chord (the same as an F, but with the major 7)

The major 7 in F is E - the chord shown is Bb-F-A-C-F, or Fadd11, often shown F/11 in charts, or F/Bb for guitar.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

Yes, the Fmaj7 is:

e|------0------
B|------1------
G|------2------
D|------3------
A|------x------
E|------x------

The usual F major is:

e|------1------
B|------1------
G|------2------