LOCRIAN IS A STUPID MODE

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 Kyle
(@kyle)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Well, this is almost a technique question, with more theory invloved. OK. so, as a warm up excercise for soloing, I challenge myself to create a flowing melody with all the major sounding modes in one improvisation and all the minor sounding ones in a seperate improvisation.  I was havin a great time with this idea as it was really helping me break past the basic box positions that i normally shred with, and which my fingers are so accustomed to. One problem, every time i get to locrian, it ends up sounding dumb. I've tried a lot of stuff, connecting the roots with other key notes in locrian, no good. It always ends up sounding like my guitar is out of tune and im a newb fummbling my way through natural minor. What i normally do to connect scales/modes doesnt seem to work with locrian. WHY!!!!????? WHY DOES IT HAVE TO BE SOME STUPID AND DIFFERENT!!!! Also, even when i play locrian alone, nothing sounds right, i cant  come up with any licks whatsoever. I am starting to think this mode is un-lickable. So first question:

1: what new approches do you suggest to try and link scales and modes so that they form a more flowing kind of a line?

2: WHY does locrian sound soooooo wrong??? is it my scale positions? My string roots. help :-[.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

The meaning of life? I've never heard a simpler question! Music.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Locrian mode is pretty limited in its uses... the other six have a lot more musical capabilities.

It's not you, it's the tonal series.  Compare the B locrian:

B-C-D-E-F-G-A-B

to the B scale:

B-C#-D#-E-F#-G#-A#-B

lots of notes are going to clash with a B chord (B-D#-F#)

Just about the worst sound you can get, to my ear anyway, is a flat ninth interval.  Look at the possible notes in the locrian that form a flat 9 against the B chord (clashing notes in bold):

B-C-D-E-F-G-A-B