Clear all

Oddball G chord ?

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@odnt43)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hello everyone, I have just come across the guitarnoise website, and this forum ...looks good, and I hope to have some fun here.
I have been playing for over 40 years, but who's to say I haven't had just 1 years' experience repeated OVER and OVER, for four decades. :wink:
My "name", OdNt43, satnds for Old dog, New tricks, and I was born in '43.

No, not 1843.... :roll:

Anyway, I've been using a chord in certain flatpicked bluegrass G pieces for some 30 years now, but no-one ever asked me to "write" it out until recently.
It's played on the top 4 strings, open fourth, open third, 3rd fret second string, 3rd fret first string : x x 0 0 3 3.....so should I call it a G5/D ?
(Based on the fact that it's a two-note "non-chord 5", but the lowest note played in it is the D.)
Thanks in advance;
Dog

"A child of five could understand this...send someone to fetch a child of five !"--Groucho Marx

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You could call it that...

One other choice: D4. Since it's just an interval, with D on the bottom, that would avoid the slash.

Without a chord diagram, though, there's no way to indicate what strings (or how many strings) should be played - so I'd either do it in tab or include a fingering diagram.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@alex_)
Honorable Member

i thought '6' was first inversion?

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Yes, '6' is used to indicate first inversion in figured bass notation - but this doesn't have a third.

ReplyQuote
(@alex_)
Honorable Member

so the 4 relates to the fourth diatonic note up from D?

so if it was D and C# it would be D7, or does it only work with fifths? or normal triadic notes?

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It works with any two notes - all I'm doing is inverting the interval.