Clear all

questions about musicals scales

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@screaminside)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

1- if we are using a key say a( a minor ) or whatever then we have to use only the notes in the scale and never use other notes out side the scale ? i found some song use notes from out side the scale
2 - is there harmony between two musical scales played at the same time ?
3 - is there any ways to change from a key to another while playing the same song

sorry if i m asking about something wrong but i am confused and thank u

(@coolnama)
Prominent Member

Ok I will try to answer ^^ I'm new to this but I think I can answer if not prolly somebody like Noteboat Fretsource, Hbriem, Scrybe, etc etc, will correct me.

1. Well yes you can use notes outside the scale. Scales are divided in tetrachords ( 4 notes ) in the C major scale the 1st Tetrachord is C-D-E-F and the second is G-A-B-C, in a G major scale the first tetrachord is G-A-B-C and the second is (D-E-F#-G). :O C major's second Tetrachord is the same as G major's first Tetrachord, because G major is the 5th note in C majors scale ( its called the dominant ), so you could use the G major scale in a song in C major because of the relationship between these two, you can also use the F major scale because, its the 4th ( i think its called the subdominant) and they also share a Tetrachord.

2. I'm not sure if I understand the question but, with the above knowledge you can see there can be Harmony between 2 or more musical scales, but they aren't completely the same so the harmony isn't like between scales but more like with the notes you are playing, for example a C major scale and a G major scale played together at the same time won't sound cool because of the F#, but if you don't play the F#, is it really a G major scale or just another mode of the C major scale ? ( seriously lol somebody answer my question I don't wanna confuse people more than they are xD ).