Scale/Chord Relationships

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Because you're spelling Dm6 wrong.

All chords are named from the underlying major scale... since this has a D root, you use the D major scale to form chords:

D-E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D

A 6th chord uses 1-3-5-6 (D-F#-A-B) and making it minor only lowers the third (D-F-A-B).

It's a common misconception that minor chords are named from minor scales. But that logic doesn't work - because there are three different minor scales. In other words, whether the 6th is Bb or B depends on whether you're in natural minor (Bb), harmonic minor (Bb) or melodic minor (B).

The major scale comes in only one flavor, so we always use that for naming chords - it avoids any confusion.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

(@hawkfoggy)
Estimable Member

Wait.wait.wait
how do you know which chords match with certain scales? i know its a total newbie question but i'm flippen curious.
GIT SNAKE BIT

"I'm as free as a bird now. And this bird you can not change" Free Bird, By: Lynyrd Skynyrd
GIT SNAKE BIT!!!
stay safe

ReplyQuote
(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

As NoteBoat said, chords are named from major scales. The root of the chord tells you which major scale.
So the chord C minor, for example, contains the notes 1 b3 & 5 in relation to the C major scale = C Eb & G

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Any scale that contains the chord tones will work. So will any scale that conflicts with certain tones, like the blues scale over a major chord (where a major chord has a natural 3rd, and the blues scale a b3)

So if your chord is Dm6, you want to see D-F-A-B in the scale. That leaves you with E, G, and C... which can be natural, sharp, or flat in your scale and still work.