Notifications
Clear all

specific question about reading music

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@algebun)
Topic starter  

I am a complete newbie with a guitar. I'm trying to learn how to read music. I have a specific question on how to play a certain note on the guitar

I see notes that tell me to play the same string differently. How do I do that?

For example concerning the Fourth string, I've seen a note that tells me to play D note (4th string open) and E note (4th string second fret) at the same time. The note has a line coming down between the D note and E note notation? What is this? I obviously can't play both notes at the same time on the same string

Please excuse the very cryptic description. I don't know how to get a drawing on this message board

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

um, from your description, it sounds like the notation is asking you to slide up to the E note or hammer-on (since the D note is an open string). but I might have misread your post.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

I'm not sure from your description if the line you mentioned is a single note stem for both notes, meaning they're played at the same time or if it's like Scrybe suggested, i.e., a slide or hammer on between the notes played consecutively.
Anyway, you CAN play both notes at the same time, just not on the same string.
One way (there are several) is to play D on string 5 fret 5 and E on string 4 fret 2.

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Without seeing the example, one can only guess at what the music is saying and there are all sorts of possibilities. Most likely it's a a slur (slide, bend, hammer-on or pull-off) or a trill. What piece of music is it? Chances are someone has a copy.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)