staying inside a mode

16 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i am confused.
C ionian, D dorian etc are all the same notes. if i am playing in the key of C and wish to solo using D dorian to get the feel of that mode, how do i make sure i dont play A aeolian, or E phrygian etc. they are the same and build the same neck long pattern and i only know the shape across the whole neck. i learned it as one big pattern rather than box positions - and now using modes gets me stuck?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

if i am playing in the key of C and wish to solo using D dorian to get the feel of that mode, how do i make sure i dont play A aeolian, or E phrygian etc.
If the key centre is C then you won't get the true 'feel' of the Dorian mode. It will just sound like C major albeit focused around the second note D. That's a far cry from the true feeling of the Dorian mode, which , using the same notes, has D as its tonal (key) centre, not C.
The good news is that it won't feel like the Phrygian or Aeolian either.
If you want to hear the authentic improvised Dorian mode quality, listen to Miles Davis' "So What".

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

agreed. if you have recording equipment (however basic) try recording a Dminor chord vamp (or Dm-Am will work). Then play D Dorian over it, improv'ing. Repeat the exercise using the D minor scale (if you don't know the minor scales, which I'm assuming you do from your posting on modes, try, uh, try recording an F major vamp, then play F Lydian - C major scale, and compare that with playing over the vamp using the F major scale). Should help to further illustrate Fretsource's point.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter