Clear all

what key is this?

12 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I think i may have accidently stumbled upon understanding modes a little more without trying.

i used jam studio to create a backing track, and i wanted it in Aminor. The chords were Am G Am E (2 bars of each).

i decided to play only arpeggio's over each chord, to help myself become more familiar with them. i also allowed myself to use the 7th of each chord.

thinking the track was in A minor, i tried to use the F, over the G chord as the 7th, but it sounded off, while the F# sounded fine.

i thought, maybe the track is in em, or G, but, the Am is too common for that, so have i accidently created something in A dorian??

if so, this will be the first time i have actually had a practical understanding of modes, so i will be very happy if i am correct :D :D

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You're in Am. It's got nothing to do with modes, though.

The F# is part of the A melodic minor scale. Since your progression has both G (in the G chord) and G# (in the E chord), a scale that has both is a logical choice - and that's A melodic minor. It also has F natural, which will sound fine over the Am.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks noteboat - that makes a lot of sense, although i am dissapointed that my modes epiphany turned out to be wrong :oops:

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member